15 interesting facts after 15 years of India’s victory


New Delhi: The 2007 ICC Twenty20 World Cup was the inaugural Twenty20 International Cricket World Championship and India proved to be champions of the shorter format. South Africa hosted the World Cup from 11 to 24 September 2007. Twelve teams participated in the thirteen-day tournament.

15 years ago on this day, September 24, India lifted the cup, beating Pakistan in the final.

Here are 15 interesting facts about the ICC World Cup 2007:

1. The group league match between India and Pakistan in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2007 ended in a draw. The result of a tied match will then be decided by bowl-out. Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa hit their targets, while Pakistan’s Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi failed miserably.

2. West Indies conceded the most number of extra runs in their T20 World Cup 2007 match against South Africa in Johannesburg. West Indies team gave 28 extra runs in this match.

3. Australia lost to Zimbabwe in their first match in the 2007 edition of the T20 World Cup. First, the bowlers who were led by Elton Chigumbura restricted Australia to a low total of 138 runs, and then Brendan Taylor anchored the innings to defeat Ricky Ponting’s men.

Fastest T20I fifty

4. On 19 September 2007, India were facing England, and Yuvraj Singh brought up his fifty in just twelve deliveries, making him the record holder for the fastest fifty in a T20 international.

Six sixes by Yuvraj Singh

5. In the same match, Yuvraj Singh became the first T20 cricketer to smash six sixes in one. The unlucky bowler who was hit hard by Yuvraj Singh on this day was Stuart Broad.

6. On 14 September 2007, Sri Lanka faced Kenya in a group stage match and scored a whopping 260 runs from their twenty overs. Till date, this is the highest total ever posted in a T20 World Cup match.

7. In the same match, Kenya were bowled out for just 88 runs, losing by 172, which remains the biggest defeat in T20 World Cup history.

8. The first T20 World Cup match was played between West Indies and South Africa at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on 11 September.

9. In the same match, Chris Gayle became the first batsman to score a century in an international match in T20 format. Also, Chris Gayle remained the only batsman to hit a century in the 2007 T20 world cup.

10. On 16 September 2007, Australia played Bangladesh, and Australian fast bowler Brett Lee took three wickets in three balls to become the first person to take a hat-trick in the World Cup World T20. Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza and Alok Kapali were his victims.

11. Australian wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist had the most dismissals by a wicketkeeper in the T20 World Cup 2007. He had taken a record 9 dismissals in the tournament.

12. New Zealand’s Craig McMillan hit the highest number of sixes in T20 world cup 2007. He hit a total of 13 sixes in the entire tournament.

13. Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya conceded 64 runs in 4 overs against Pakistan in Johannesburg in their T20 World Cup 2007. He holds the record for most runs conceded in a T20 innings.

14. India played only one match in the group stage against Pakistan and qualified for the next round after defeating Pakistan in a bowl out tie. The match against Scotland was abandoned.

15. Champions India had only played one T20 International before the World Cup, which was in 2006. Also, they had only one domestic T20 tournament till then.

Read full article here

Leave a Reply