ATK Mohun Bagan beat Bengaluru FC


New Delhi: ATK Mohun Bagan got their last dance at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa when they beat Bengaluru FC on penalties (4-3) after a 2-2 draw on Saturday (March 18).

2-2 after overtime

He entered the penalty shootout after Dimitri Petratos scored twice for ATK Mohun Bagan, while Sunil Chhetri and Roy Krishna were on target for Bengaluru FC. Both teams failed to find the back of the net in overtime.

Penalty duel

Alan Costa (BFC) and Dimitri Petratos (ATKMB) both shot the ball from the spot. Roy Krishna scored a cool and composed penalty to give Bengaluru FC the lead, but Liston Colaco converted to make it 2-2 for ATK.

In the next attempt, Bruno Ramires missed the target, Kiyan shot in favor of ATK Mohun Bagan, but Sunil Chhetri converted to make it 3-3 in favor of Bengaluru FC. However, Manvir Singh’s goal saw ATKMB on top again.

ATK Mohun Bagan lifted their maiden trophy

This saw ATK Mohun Bagan defeat Bengaluru FC in the penalty shootout to lift their first ISL trophy.

Champions speak

“The title is very, very special compared to how we started. It was a team effort – 120 minutes and a great job,” ATKMB captain Pritam Kotal said after lifting his first ISL trophy.

“I’m very happy. It’s a family. Everyone’s happy now, but they have (supportive) families behind them who missed Holi and Diwali. It’s been a tough season because of the injuries, but the players continue to perform throughout the season and that’s fantastic feeling,” coach Juan Ferrando said.

Petratos speaks after the match

It was a tough match. But we fought until the end and you saw how much it meant to us. Today we are here and we are champions. It was good. Now I will enjoy this moment, have a good rest and come back for next season.

Read full article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here