Dhawan, Prabhsimran smash fifty as…..


New Delhi: Punjab Kings (PBKS) skipper Shikhar Dhawan (86) and Prabhsimran Singh (60) guided PBKS to set a formidable target of 198 aboard Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on Wednesday, April 5 .

After being invited to bat first, Prabhsimran got off to a great start for PBKS. Dhawan and Singh combined for 63 runs in the powerplay overs and would add 90 runs for the opening wicket before Jos Buttler completed the stunner to bundle Prabhsimran for 64 (34).

Bhanuka Rajapaksa then joined the skipper in the middle but was forced to leave the ground soon after Dhawan hit the ball. The skipper then added another 50-plus stand with Jitesh Sharma bundled out by Yuzvendra Chahal for 27(16).

In Rajasthan, Jason Holder scalped 2 wickets while removing Prabhsimran Singh and Shahrukh Khan. Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravichandran Ashwin picked one wicket each.

Jason Holder came in to bowl the last over and was hit for four by Prabhsimran Singh.

Devdutt Padikkal then dropped a catch on the last delivery to give Prabhsimran a lucky reprieve. Holder cut it wide and finally Prabhsimran cut it open. Padik tried to catch him, but he overran, lost his balance and couldn’t hold on.

Prabhsimran notches 44 as Punjab pile up 64 runs in power play.

Jason Holder finally made the breakthrough when he got rid of Prabhsimran Singh for 60 (34). Bowl a short delivery that caught the top edge and the ball flew through the air. Jos Buttler did a good length, ran in from long-on and took a brilliant catch.

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals (RR) captain Sanju Samson won the toss and elected to bowl first against Punjab Kings (PBKS).

The XI is playing

Rajasthan Royals XI: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (captain/seven), Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Jason Holder, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, KM Asif, Trent Boult.

Punjab Kings XI: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prabhsimran Singh (seven), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sikandar Raza, Jitesh Sharma, Shahrukh Khan, Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh.

Read full article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here