Election Commission allotments get new party names to both factions, Shinde camp yet to decide on symbol


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has assigned a ‘lit torch’ widely known as the ‘mashaal’ symbol to Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena faction. As a result, the faction will now be called “Shivesena (Uddhav Balasaheb)”.

On the other hand, the commission has given ‘Balasahebanchi Shivsena’ as the party name to Eknath Shinde’s faction of Shiv Sena and also asked it to select a new symbol.

The Electoral Commission has asked the party to present three new options tomorrow at 10 am. The voting body previously rejected the gada (blunt mace) and the trishul (trident), which were presented by both sides, because they were religious symbols. Rajiv Kumar, the Chief Election Commissioner, is rumored to have taken a strong stand against the use of religious symbols by political parties.

The Shiv Sena Thackeray side had provided a list of three names and emblems. According to Election Commission sources, ‘Shiv Sena Balasaheb Thackeray’ was selected as the main candidate, followed by ‘Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray’ and ‘Shiv Sena Balasaheb Prabodhankar Thackeray’.

Read full article here

Leave a Reply