India achieves key milestone in its G20 Presidency, completes


New Delhi: India celebrates one of the key milestones of its G20 presidency today by hosting 100 presidenciesth G20 meeting, the Meeting of Agriculture Chief Scientists (MACS) in Varanasi. THE 2n.d Health Working Group in Goa, the 2ndn.d The Digital Economy Working Group in Hyderabad and the Forerunner Meeting of Space Economy Leaders in Shillong are also taking place today.

After handing over the G20 presidency to Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the G20 Bali Summit on 16 November 2022, India’s one-year presidency of the G20 began on 1 December 2022 and will continue until 30 November 2023. Earlier on November 8, 2022, the Prime Minister launched the G20 logo and introduced the theme of India’s G20 presidency – ‘Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam’ – ‘One Earth. One family. A future”. Designed in the colors of India’s national flag, the G20 logo symbolizes our planet-friendly approach and our growth in the face of challenges.

The Group of Twenty (G20) includes 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkiye, United States in the United States) and the European Union. G20 members account for about 85% of world GDP, more than 75% of global trade and about two-thirds of the world’s population.

The in-person attendance during India’s G20 presidency is among the largest ever. Above 12,300 sent from above 110 nationalities have so far participated in meetings related to the G20. This includes the participation of G20 members, 9 invited countries and 14 international organizations. According to the datethe 100 G20 meetings were held in 41 cities, cover 28 states and union territories.

The meetings are organized across and across India with the full support and participation of the State Governments and Union Territories. Under our presidency, India hosts more than 200 foreign delegates of G20-related meetings approx. 60 in urban India, the widest geographical spread among the G20 Presidencies. All 13 Sherpa Track Working Groups, 8 Financial Tracking Workflows, 11 Engagement Groups and 4 Initiatives have engaged in meaningful interaction.

A new Working Group on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR), a new ‘Startup 20’ engagement group and a new initiative Roundtable of Chief Scientific Advisers (CSAR) were in place under the G20 presidency. The 11 engagement groups provide a platform for dialogue between the private sector, academia, civil society, youth and women, and institutions including parliaments, audit authorities and city administrations.

Three ministerial meetings have been held so far. The first Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting (FMCBG) on 24-25 February 2023 in Bengaluru, the G20 Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (FMM) on 1-2 March 2023 in New Delhi and the second FMCBG meeting on 24-25 April 2023 12-13 in Washington DC. Two Sherpa meetings were held in Udaipur (December 4-7, 2022) and Kumarakom (March 30-April 2, 2023).

The FMCBG, FMM and Sherpa meetings saw a record high level of personal participation by all delegations with ministerial dignitaries. 28 foreign ministers (18 G20 members, 9 guest countries and AU Chai-Comoros) and 2 deputy foreign ministers/vice presidents (from Japan and the Republic of Korea) participated in the FMM.

These ministerial meetings concluded with substantive outcome documents that fostered consensus on shared G20 priorities. These include the Consensus on the Establishment of an Expert Group on MDB Reforms and Debt Management1street FMCBG and on multilateral reforms, development cooperation, food and energy security, counter-terrorism, new and emerging threats, global skills mapping and disaster risk reduction in the FMM.

Under his presidency, India is also amplifying the voices and concerns of the global south and developing countries. They took part in the Voice of Global South summit held in January 2023 and chaired by the Prime Minister 125 countries including 18 heads of state/government and others at ministerial level. In addition, under India’s current chairmanship, African participation is the highest ever and includes South Africa (G20 member), Mauritius, Egypt, Nigeria, AU Chairmanship (Comoros) and AUDA-NEPAD.

Also Read: President Droupadi Murmu to visit Himachal from April 18-20

Read full article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here