#IPL2022, SRHvsRR: Kane Williamson wins toss, opts to field first


Pune: Kane Williamson has started the game by winning the toss and opted to field first due to the dew factor. In the final contest of the opening round of IPL 2022 fixtures, the Royals will be taking on Hyderabad in their season opener. Both the teams had a forgetful 2021 with a bottom-two finish.

We are going to have a bowl. I think it will play pretty well, the grass is short and potential dew factor, so we will try and make use of that. Most of the team has been here for a week to ten days and that has been really helpful. Really excited to get the tournament started. Every team is faced with the same challenges and it will be great to be get going. They (coaching staff) have been amazing, so much knowledge there to tap into and they are also excited.” said Kane after the toss.

Leader of Rajashtan Royals, Sanju Samson said, “It is a special day for franchise as seven guys are making their debuts. Our four foreign internationals are Jos Buttler, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult and Hetmyer. We have played a lot of games here and know what is going to happen. It looks like a very green wicket but I am sure it will help both batsmen and bowlers.”

“Very excited for this season. Any time at the start of the IPL it is always an exciting time. Franchises have new squads together and they will be trying to gel quickly as a team and looking forward to getting our first match underway. My math is quite simple – to get as many (runs) as I can and as quickly as I can,” said Jos Buttler before the toss. 

Probable XI:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Kane Williamson(c), Nicholas Pooran(w), Aiden Markram, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Romario Shepherd, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik


Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna

first published:March 29, 2022, 7:01 p.m.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here