Manipur elections 2022: 173 candidates will contest in the first phase of Manipur elections today

Imphal: The first phase of polling is to be held in Manipur today. In the first phase, polling will be held in 38 assembly seats in five districts of the state. In the first phase, 173 candidates including 15 women are contesting and 12,22,713 voters including 6,29,276 women voters will decide their electoral fate.

In the second phase, the remaining 22 seats will go to polls on March 5. While the counting of votes will take place on March 10. There are total 60 seats in Manipur. Many regional parties including Congress and BJP are in the fray in the election.

Voting will be held in 38 seats of Manipur in the first phase. These seats are – Khundrakapam, Hingang, Khurai, Khetigao, Thongju, Keirao, Andro, Lamalai, Thangmiband, Uripok, Sagolband, Keesamthong, Singjamei, Yaskul, Wangkhei, Sekmai, Lamsang, Konthouzam, Maya, Pangkhabal, Naurpakhabal, Naurpakhabal, Thangmiband, Uripok, Sagolband, , Lung Imphal, Nambol, Oinam, Bishanpur, Moirang, Thanga, Kumbi, Saikul, So-Kangpokpi, Saitu, Tapaimukh, Thanlon, Henglap, Churachandpur, Saikot and Singhat.

At present there is a BJP government here. The tenure of Manipur Legislative Assembly is ending on 19 March 2022. In such a situation, the process of forming the government in the state will be completed before that.

In the 2017 election, the Congress had emerged as the single largest party in Manipur with 28 seats and just three seats short of a majority. Despite this, the Congress had to stay away from power. In Manipur, BJP won 21 seats and formed the government with the support of National People’s Party (4), Naga People’s Front (4), LJP (1) and two other MLAs. BJP’s N Biren Singh became the Chief Minister of the state.

According to the data released by the Election Commission, there are 9 lakh 85 thousand 119 male voters and 10 lakh 49 thousand 639 female voters in the state. At the same time, the number of transgender voters is 208. Out of these, the number of disabled voters is 14 thousand 565, while the number of voters above 80 years of age is 41 thousand 867.

The total number of polling stations in the state is 2959. According to the Election Commission, 1,991 polling stations and 763 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and important.

First published:February 28, 2022, 7:36 am

Leave a Reply