Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM


New Delhi: Ending his alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Nitish Kumar was on Wednesday sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the eighth term. RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav was also sworn in as Deputy Prime Minister at a ceremony held in Raj. Bhavan in Patna.

This comes a day after massive political turmoil in the state, after which he dissolved the alliance between the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and announced a new ‘Grand Alliance’ that would include Tejashwi . Yadav Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and other opposition parties.

RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav and his wife Rajshri, former CM Rabri Devi and RJD leader Tej Pratap Yadav attended the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Patna.

Meanwhile, Tejashwi Yadav was also sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state.
Seven parties including 164 MLAs as well as independent MLAs in Mahagathbandhan, Nitish Kumar said at a joint press conference with RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav after meeting Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan on Tuesday.

Read full article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here