Punjab cabinet expansion: 6 new ministers inducted under the leadership of CM Charanjit Singh Channi


In the first cabinet expansion under the leadership of Charanjit Singh Channi, the Punjab government announced a cabinet of 15 ministers including 6 new faces in the cabinet.

The 15 new ministers include Brahm Mohindra, Manpreet Singh Badal, Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria, Rana Gurjit Singh, Aruna Chaudhary, Razia Sultana, Bharat Bhushan Ashu, Vijay Inder Singla, Randeep Singh Nabha, Raj Kumar Verka, Sangat. Singh Gilzian, Pargat Singh, Amarinder Singh Raja Waring, Gukarrat Singh Kotli. Nabha, Verka, Gilzian, Pargat Singh, Waring and Kotli.

The newly appointed ministers are Randeep Singh Nabha Raj Kumar Verka, Sangat Singh Gilzian, Pargat Singh, Mr Waring and Mr Kotli.

The MLAs took oath at the Raj Bhavan in Chandigarh administered by Governor Banwarilal Purohit.

Rana Gurjit Singh was also a part of former Chief Minister Amarinder Singh’s cabinet in 2017 but was dropped from the cabinet in 2018 over a sand mining scam. Rana Gurjit Singh is one of the richest and powerful MLAs of Punjab.

Hours before the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan, six Congress MLAs wrote to Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu seeking inclusion of Rana Gurjit Singh and requesting him to remove Gurjit Singh’s name immediately. Instead he sought a Dalit face in the cabinet in view of the 2022 assembly elections.

On the other hand, Balbir Singh Sidhu and Gurpreet Singh Kangar, who were ministers in Captain Amarinder Singh’s government, held a joint press conference and expressed their feeling that why they were not considered for the posts in the cabinet.

The new cabinet has been designed in such a way that in view of the Punjab Assembly elections in 2022, power has not been given to already powerful leaders. The Congress is likely to contest the 2022 assembly elections under the leadership of Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu.

Leave a Reply