Punjab election results 2022: Will take oath at Khatkar Kalan, the birthplace of Bhagat Singh: Mannu

Punjab Election Result 2022: Bhagwant Mann will take oath as the Chief Minister of Punjab at the birthplace of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh.

Mann, who was fielded by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) as its chief ministerial candidate, said his swearing-in ceremony would not take place at the Raj Bhavan, but at Khatkar Kalan, where the revolutionary freedom fighter was born in 1907. Oath from Khatkar Kalan, the birthplace of Shaheed Bhagat Singh,” Mann said while addressing party workers from the terrace of his Sangrur residence, as his mother emotionally hugged her soon-to-be chief minister son.

With AAP poised to win the state of Punjab, early trends in the day showed a surge of Arvind Kejriwal-led party.

Mann, who won from Dhuri constituency in Sangrur district, also announced that the AAP government in Punjab would not hang his photographs on the walls of its offices.

“We will decide whether the photographs of Bhagat Singh and BR Ambedkar will be put up in government offices instead of mine,” Mann said.

The stand-up comedian-turned-politician said that the governance of Punjab would be carried out from the villages and not the palaces of the politicians.

Mann said, ‘We have to run Punjab together, earlier Punjab was run from big houses of leaders but will not be run from wards, villages and cities of Punjab’.

Taking a dig at the opposition leaders, the AAP leader said that he “personally attacked me and Arvind Kejriwal. Forgive him for this but from now on he will have to respect the 2.75 crore people of Punjab”.

According to the Election Commission of India, AAP has won 20 seats in the 117-seat Punjab Assembly with a lead over 71 others at 2:40 pm.

As AAP wins Punjab, it will be the party’s first victory in the state and a major improvement from its performance in the 2017 elections when it finished second only to the Congress.

Congress entered the elections, battling factionalism and anti-incumbency. The party changed its chief minister in September last year, even as the party’s new state unit chief Navjot Singh Sidhu hinted about his own chief ministerial ambitions. The Congress eventually announced Charanjit Singh Channi as the first Dalit chief minister of Punjab, backing him for the chief minister’s post, days before polling on 20 February.

The Shiromani Akali Dal, which eventually broke its alliance with the BJP over the three agricultural laws that were repealed, forged an alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party for the assembly elections.
This is the first time the BJP has contested more than 65 seats in Punjab. It forged an alliance with former Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh’s Punjab Lok Congress and SS Dhindsa-led SAD (United).
Punjab recorded an average voter turnout of 65.50 per cent on February 20 as compared to over 77 per cent in 2017. (ANI)

First published:March 10, 2022, 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply