Renovation of the Education System by the Declaration of the New Education Policy


Education is the exclusive preserve of the learned and the wise. They are thus able to use it very effectively to gain power for themselves or to help others to remain in power. As the dawn of the new generation has thrown up a plethora of new career opportunities that were unknown till now, so education has become a must for all. 


Fortunately for us, there are vast avenues as the government is imperious to ensure that there is a proper education system for its youth who are the future of the nation.


They have taken a timely decision giving due weightage to education policy on advice of several educationalists in our country. 


Let’s see what changes have been discerned in the education system which can have a salutary effect on the peers and the pupils at large. 

The Announcement of the “5+3+3+4 System”.


The insurrection in the new structure brings into fold the former play schools within the extent of ‘formal education’.


On July 28, 2020 the Government proclaimed the new National Education Policy reforms which is the transition from the half-a-century-old (10+2) format to “5+3+3+4” structure. 

Description of this “5+3+3+4” System. 


▪So far, students start their formal education at the age of 3 by means of play schools. Then they’re moved to a ‘school’ which is Lower Kindergarten and Upper Kindergarten which are followed by 12 years of education and later higher secondary education. 


▪The new structure just tends to divide the sooner structure into advantageous developmental stages of the child, i.e., early education, school years, so the pedagogy. 

Age-wise Break-up of the 5+3+3+4 Education System. 


⚫For Age Bracket of 3-8 years: The Fundamental years


▪The fundamental years of early  education will comprise 3 years of pre-school education or Anganwadi education. 


▪Next 2 years of primary education, i.e., class 1 and class 2. It will be for the youngsters of age bracket  3 to 8 years . Then there are classes 3 and 4 for children of age-bracket from 6 to 8 years old. 


▪In these fundamental years, the focal point will be the development of language skills and teaching skills by activity-based and play-based core curriculum.


⚫For Age Bracket of 8-11 years : The Preparatory Stage


▪The National Education Policy has balanced the preparatory stage which will provide education from standard 3 to 5.


▪It will shroud the students of age bracket from 8 to 11 years old. 


▪This preparatory stage would ponder more on experiential and practical learning,  discovery, activity-based, application-based and interaction learning in the classroom . 

⚫Age Bracket of 11 to 14 years: The Middle-School stage


▪The Middle Stage will shroud education from class 6 to class 8. It will be for the students belonging to the age bracket of 11 to 14 years old. 


▪This very structure concerns the reform  of schooling from the pre-existing system to a more experiential and practical learning in the field of science, mathematics, economics, social sciences, arts and humanities. 


▪The focus would be more on critical learning of methods and impede the rote-learning method. 


⚫The Secondary Stage for the 4 years


▪The Secondary Stage will shroud  the school education from classes 9 to 12 in two phases. 

▪The first phase of classes will be from 9 to 10 and then the second phase of classes will be from 11 to 12. 

▪This stage includes a collaborative and versatile study where the students would have the option to pick and opt for any set of subjects from the rendered structure according to their aspirations.

Education shouldn’t solely be confined to form students literate however ought to additionally infuse sensible moral and ethical values in them. This could be done by using trendy academic tools and by appointing sensible qualified lecturers. This will help students to take up their own vocation and lead a prosperous life. 

Leave a Reply