The Election Commission allocates new party names to both factions, and the Shinde camp has not yet decided on the code


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has assigned a “flaming torch” widely known as the “torchlight” symbol to the Shiv Sena faction led by Udhav Thackeray. As a result, the faction will now be called “Shivsena (Uddhav Balasaheb)”.

On the other hand, the committee awarded “Balasahebanchi Shivsena” as the party name to the Eknath Shinde faction of Shiv Sena and also asked him to choose a new symbol.

The Election Commission has asked the party to present three new options by 10 a.m. tomorrow. The scouting body had previously rejected the boulevard (the sharp mace) and the trident (the trident), which were given by both sides, as they were religious symbols. Rajiv Kumar, Chief Election Commissioner, is rumored to have taken a strong stand against the use of religious symbols by political parties.

The Shiv Sena Thackeray side made a list of three names and mottos. According to sources in the Electoral Commission, “Shiv Sena Balasaheb Thackeray” was chosen as the first candidate, followed by “Shiv Sena Udhav Balasaheb Thackeray” and “Shiv Sina Balasaheb Thackeray” as the first candidate.

Read full article here

Leave a Reply