Venkatesh Iyer’s century goes in vain…

New Delhi: Mumbai Indians (MI) beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Sunday, April 16. This is Mumbai’s second win in the tournament.

Back-to-back wins for Mumbai

After a disappointing start to the tournament, Mumbai Indians finally found their rhythm as they first beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by 6 goals and today they beat Kolkata by 5 goals to register their back-to-back win.

Rohit-Ishan gives a perfect start

Chasing a mammoth target of 186, Mumbai Indians regular skipper Rohit Sharma came in as the players got the team off to a flying start. Sharma and Ishan Kishan shared 65 runs before the latter was picked up by Suyash Sharma for 20 runs off 13 balls.

Ishan is fifty years old

Then Ishan scored a blistering fifty before being removed by Varun Chakravarthy for 58 runs. Skipper Suryakumar Yadav then teamed up with Tilak Verma as the pair added 60 runs for the third wicket and swung the momentum in Mumbai’s favour. Tim David smashed an unbeaten 24 off 13 overs as Mumbai completed the run in 2.2 overs.

KKR’s batting

Earlier, Venkatesh Iyer hammered his maiden IPL ton before being removed for 104 off 51 balls. He was brought to the crease after KKR lost Jagadeesan for 0. However, he remained on the attack and completed his half-century off 23 balls before touching the three-figure mark off 49 balls.

MI vs KKR: Team Lineup

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (w), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (c), Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Riley Meredith.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (w), Venkatesh Iyer, N Jagadeesan, Nitish Rana (c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakaravarthy

Read full article here





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *