Vice President Oath: Jagdeep Dhankhar reaches Rajghat


Vice President Oath: Jagdeep Dhankhar, the newly elected Vice President of the country, will take oath today. Jagdeep Dhankhar will take the oath of office and secrecy at 12.30 pm at Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Draupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to the newly elected Vice President.

Before taking oath today, he paid tribute to the Father of the Nation by offering flowers at the Samadhi of Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat in the morning. He will take oath as the 14th Vice President of the country today.

Japdeep Dhankhar was elected as the Vice President on 6 August. Jagdeep Dhankhar will replace outgoing Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, whose term ended yesterday i.e. on August 10, 2022. Before becoming the Vice President, Jagdeep Dhankhar served as the Governor of West Bengal.

Jagdeep Dhankhar won the Vice Presidential election by defeating the joint candidate of the opposition Margaret Alva. In the Vice Presidential election, Jagdeep Dhankhar got 528 votes while Margaret Alva got only 182 votes.

Jagdeep Dhankhar secured a landslide victory in the Vice Presidential election with more than 72 percent of the total valid votes. The victory margin of Mr. Dhankhar is the highest in the last six elections for the post of Vice President.

Jagdeep Dhankhar’s victory margin is the highest in the last six vice-presidential elections since 1997. However, KR Narayanan holds the record for the Vice President’s victory by the highest margin by securing 700 votes out of 701 votes cast against independent candidate Kaka Joginder Singh. 1992.

Read full article here

Leave a Reply