#WIvsEng: Eoin Morgan to lead England in shortest format bilateral series


London: England’s 16-man squad for the bilateral series with the West Indies has been announced and Eoin Morgan will take over the leadership. Paul Collingwood will stand in as head coach for the five-match series to be played in Barbados from 22-30 January.

Marcus Trescothick will join the team as assistant coach. The squad comprises 11 players who traveled to the United Arab Emirates for the T20 World Cup last November. George Garten and David Payne are both uncapped players.

In an official release, Paul Collingwood said: “We have picked a strong team with some serious batting power and a balanced attack as we begin preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia.”

“With less than a year left in the World Cup and the absence of the players who are with the Ashes team, the opportunities for the team will increase. I have good memories of winning the World Cup in Barbados and I am really looking forward to this.” Going back there with the team and facing a very good West Indies that will test all aspects of our skills.”

England team: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, George Garten, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Tymal Mills, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince .

First published:December 23, 2021, 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply